From Mainframe to AWS, Python, Bash and Powershell

From Mainframe to AWS, Python, Bash and Powershell

·

2 min read

If you like this article, then chances are you would like what I tweet as well. Have a look at my Twitter profile. twitter.com/ISUGoldenRule

Sharing My Story

Hello!

I would like to share my story, from a mainframe developer, to growing into AWS, Python, Bash, and PowerShell on the Release Engineering enablement team.

There was a Time When I Needed a Change!

This led me to share my thoughts with my Director, who presented me with an challenge - to help mature our Build and Release Management process.

This was Not Handed to Me

My personality, and willingness to connect opened this door. I wanted to excel in this role (so that others may follow in my path later).

A World of Constant Change

No two days are the same. The constant change has been great, and I've met some of the smartest minds. Minds that inspire me and have played a large role in my growth.

Read more: Steps I Took To Become a Developer

Growing into Automation and Cloud Services is Not Easy

I have to understand the 'why' and the 'how' behind commands. It's about retention, and making sure that each new skill sticks.

AWS Cloud Services

My journey into the cloud began with foundational AWS services like EC2 and S3. I focused on earning an AWS Solutions Architect - Associate certification and learning by doing hands-on projects at work.

The Power of Scripting

I use Python for automation tasks combined with AWS Lambda. Bash and PowerShell became my go-to tools for scripting across different environments, allowing me to automate deployment tasks, giving back time to the product teams.

Don't Shy From Challenges, Getting Through Them Will Give you Confidence!

Use your abilities to open any door, and use your dedication and willingness to learn to keep those doors open. Please reach out if I can ever help out with anything!

Read more: 10 Traits of Highly Successful Developer Leads

Thank you! 🙏🏼