Steps I Took To Become a Developer

Steps I Took To Become a Developer

If you like this article, then chances are you would like what I tweet as well. Please have a look at my Twitter profile. twitter.com/ISUGoldenRule

Here's my process that landed me multiple roles in tech along the way. Hope this helps you out on your journey (whether just starting out or considering a career change).

"What path did you take to become a developer?"

Now I am a pretty firm believer in it doesn't matter where you start AS LONG as you start. It is HARD to know where to start when you don't know anything. You have very rough ideas because you just don't know what you don't know! If you spend a little time learning, you will actually have an idea of what you enjoy the most, then it is significantly easier to make a decision on what you like as a career path.

So I began with UNIX

After college while continuing to look for a full-time job, I accepted a temp job in the financial industry. As a temp employee, I was asked if I would mind starting out in the mail room but I was given a second option that I could also try and learn from the "computer guys". After a month working as a temp UNIX developer, I was hired full-time. Then, after a couple years I was offered another developer job at an insurance company coding in Mapper.

What is Mapper you ask? From Wikipedia:

MAPPER, now known as BIS, is a fourth-generation programming language from Sperry Univac. Mapper originated in the 1970s based on some work in the 1960s, but has been kept current. It was renamed and also given an extension named ICE - Internet Commerce Enabler. Mapper has given me a fourteen year in tech. I started as a Junior Developer, moved on to Mid-Level, then Senior Developer. As a Lead Developer I completed two very large re-write projects with cost benefit analysis over $10 million dollars each.

Keep on learning!

I am always learning. There is still so much that I just do not know! Tech is a life long journey of learning. You will never know it all. I am constantly spending time outside of work to learn new things on my own and become better!

What matters the most is, you just don't stop.

My journey in tech is never over! There are so many more things that I want to learn and achieve. There are many things that I can improve. So just don't stop. Keep progressing slowly.